The Teams that Won the World's Greatest Football Competition 1871 - 1901

Nottingham Forest won the first ever FA Cup final in 1898!

Contemporary reports of the historic 3-1 win over Derby are few and far between ... until now!


Long-lost historical artefact resurfaces. Your opportunity to own a copy of this rare, almost forgotten 100+ year old collectible booklet covering the teams that won the English FA Cup in its first 30 years and available again after many years.

Your chance to appreciate a genuine piece of football history

In 1872 the Football Association announced the introduction of the Football Association Challenge Cup. It was the first knockout competition of its type in the world. Only 12 clubs took part in the competition: Wanderers , Royal Engineers , Queens Park, Hitchin, Barnes, Civil Service, Crystal Palace, Hampstead Heathens, Great Marlow, Upton Park, Maidenhead and Clapham Rovers. This history of the early years of the competition gives a unique and compelling first hand view of how the competition, and football in general, has developed from its humble and unasuming beginnings to the world's favourite competition.
Tottenham Hotspur, Bury, Sheffield United, Nottingham Forest, Aston Villa, Sheffield Wednesday, Notts County, Wolverhampton Wanderers, West Bromwich Albion, Blackburn Rovers and Preston North End were all proud winners of the FA Cup in its inaugural years, along with long gone but not forgotten clubs like Wanderers, Oxford University, Royal Engineers, Old Etonians, Clapham Rovers, Old Carthusians and Blackburn Olympic.
First published in 1902 in the auspicious Strand magazine,
The Teams that Won the World's Greatest Football Competition 1871 - 1901 is a classic reprint of one of the earliest historical reference materials of the early years of the FA Cup and gives football historians and club supporters the opportunity to own a really important historical account of the world's greatest football competition.

  • a treasure trove of information either for supporters of the clubs involved or historians of the game
  • personal memoires and reminiscences of a player and official who atended the early finals
  • rarely available - this classic reprint makes the booklet - normally expensive on ebay - affordable to fans of the game

Well-written, The Teams that Won the World's Greatest Football Competition 1871 - 1901 is an immensely readable title which remains a entertaining observation on the world of football of a bygone age.
You can order this piece of football history now for only
£12.47 and download the digital facimile in PDF format in minutes. 
This classic reprint is available for just £12.47. For further details and to order a copy please visit

Nottingham Forest Memorabilia from the Clough Years

Nottingham Forest Memorabilia from the Clough Years !
Memorabilia pack available from WH Smith
Reviewed here by Richard West

Deep Into The Forest

Deep into the Forest A new book by Daniel Taylor. Reviewed here by Kev Lockhart

Nottingham Forest

Nottingham Forest ~ (Paperback - 1 September, 1996)
Approx Price:

Livewire Real Lives: Nottingham Forest

Livewire Real Lives: Nottingham Forest ~ Mike Alcott, et al (Paperback - 3 April, 2000) Approx Price: £3.50
"Livewire" is a range of reading material with a teenage/adult interest level for those with reading ages below 10, or for adult students learning English as a second or foreign language. All "Livewire" titles have been written by qualified special needs teachers, and have been assessed by The Basic Skills Agency to ensure accessibility in both layout and content. They are also subtly colour-coded for the appropriate "reading age". This biography of Nottingham Forest football team is part of the "Livewire: Real Lives" series which features personalities from sport, music and film.